blog-banner

Frances Barrett

Frances Barrett is currently in her final year at the University of Birmingham, studying Political Science and ‘drowning in conspiracy theories for my dissertation’. The Merseyside-raised blogger spends her spare time taking photos, trawling her favourite street-style websites and watching HBO boxsets tucked with her boyfriend.

Frances also likes to travel, a passion which she intends to indulge this summer with a two-month coast-to-coast trip around the USA with said boyfriend. ‘I’ve already done a lot of Europe and Australia,’ says Frances. ‘I can’t bloody wait!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

In a mere five months time I will enter the big wide world of graduate employment but rather than get sucked into a boring office job where I’ll be chained to a desk and have to feign enthusiasm for some capitalist corporation, I’m going to attempt to make the ambition I’ve harboured since I was an aspiring hack as a seven-year-old a reality.

I started Well La-Dee-Da as a New Year’s Resolution just over a year ago because I wanted somewhere to showcase my writing. But my blog obviously had a mind of its own and it has since become a bona fide fashion blog, fusing my two passions of writing and fashion. In September 2010 I attended the first Cosmo Blog Awards as I was shortlisted for the final six in the Best New Fashion Blogger category. Fashion blogs are seen as clichés but I truly believe they are an exciting medium which are slowly getting the respect they deserve as the fashion forecasters of tomorrow . I’m incredibly proud of my blog. It’s earned me invitations to everything from exclusive parties, collection previews and press screenings of films. But most importantly, it’s a great platform for people to see what I’m about.

When I’m not blogging or drowning in work, I love taking photos, trawling my favourite street-style sites, watching HBO boxsets tucked up with my boyfriend and travelling. I’ve done a lot of Europe and Australia so I’m currently planning a two-month coast to coast trip travelling the USA this Summer with said boyfriend. Can’t bloody wait!I am Merseyside born and bred

What are your inspirations?

I’m constantly inspired every single day. Whether it’s the style of people I amble past on the street or poring over the latest pictures of my style crushes Chloe Sevigny and Valentine Fillol-Cordier, I’m inspired to scribble down my thoughts on potential trends or other fashiony tidbits. A big influence on my style of writing is my ecclectic taste in magazines which all somehow help shape my turn of phrase, tone and the aesthetic of my blog.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I’m proud of everything I put up on Well La-Dee-Da. That’s the beauty of blogging, it allows you to fancy yourself as a magazine editor of sorts with total autonomy over the vision and integrity of your own medium. But if I had to pick one particular piece it would be ‘Lookbook Love’ simply because it was the first thing I had published online external to my blog after being asked to contribute to Mint Magazine in a fashion capacity.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Fellow bloggers Stevie of Discotheque Confusion, Tavi Gevinson of The Style Rookie and Rhiannon of LiebeMarlene Vintage.

Browse Frances’ blog, Well La-Dee-Da and also have a look at some of her photography. Oh, and Tweet her: @FrannieAnne.

One thought on “Frances Barrett”

Leave a Reply

