Kasia Bishop

Kasia Bishop

Meet illustrator Kasia Bishop.

Illustration aside, Kasia has lots and lots of hobbies. She loves (deep breath): ‘drawing, painting, print-making, galleries, going to the theatre and supporting small local groups, going to the cinema, reading and travel (ideally as much as possible!). Oh, and eBay! I’m currently furnishing my flat with lots of wonderful finds.’

Kasia’s recipe for illustration success? ‘My favourite songs playing – Mystic Chords of Memory by Pi and a Bee, and anything by Chopin – with a pot of tea and some Giant Chocolate Buttons’. Sounds perfect to us.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I studied for a design BTEC National Diploma at The City of Bath college, then received a first class honours degree in fashion design from Ravensbourne, London. Throughout my studies I have always maintained a keen interest in illustration, applying it to my design skills, collections and portfolio. And since graduation, there has been a continued pull towards illustration.

What are your inspirations?

Instinct inspiration is the catalyst for all my works. Objects are secondary, as I lean towards an internal feeling or intuition, which, right now, is manifested thought the movement line and pencil.

My current collection focuses on animals furs, hides and feathers and creating prints using repetition and composition. The brief is to deliberately apply the spontaneity of my initial instinct as to what suits the illustrations’ energy.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece is normally my latest – I would doubt its quality if I didn’t feel most drawn to my most current work!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I very much enjoy the work of fellow Ravensbourne graduate Niki Pilkington. I admire the passion that consistently shines through her work.

Read Kasia’s blog and Tweet her: @KasiaBishop.

All images © Kasia Bishop. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Kasia Bishop”

Leave a Reply

