Olivia Hulme

Olivia Hulme

Meet Olivia Hulme, a 20-year-old Performance Costume student at Edinburgh College of Art.

Olivia is originally from Lancashire, ‘near Blackpool, which is like a northern Las Vegas. It seems quite novel when you live somewhere beautiful like Edinburgh!’

Outside of university, Olivia has worked on music videos, theatre productions and at London Graduate Fashion Week, as well as creating fashion illustrations, too. ‘I don’t feel restricted to just costume design, I like dabbling in a few creative fields!’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m passionate about film, theatre, costume and fashion. I work at Cameo Picturehouse, a little old art house cinema in Edinburgh, which is brilliant for meeting artists and filmakers. I’ve been collaborating with some of them for music videos – I did one last week for Canadian band Woodpigeon where I was Head of Costume and did styling!

I’m dabbling in all different creative fields, from illustration, to costume design to styling for music videos. I’m doing a placement at the Royal Opera House in London this summer and for a music video production company.

After I graduate I want to be in New York or spend time in London, either working in opera, film and television or doing more work for music videos.

What are your inspirations?

I’m inspired by style throughout eras; I like the juxtaposition of the past and the present in fashion. I aim for this to show in my work, I’m interested in fashion from the past and mixing it with fashion in the here and now.

Designers such as Alexander McQueen or Marchesa are my contemporary inspirations yet I’m equally inspired by historic costume and older designers such as Coco Chanel, Elsa Schiaparelli and Madeleine Vionnet.

I also take alot of inspiration from films; there set designs and costumes are inspiring especially David Lynch and Stanley Kubrick films.

Contemporary costume designers such as Coleen Atwood and Janie Bryant for Mad Men are also big inspirations, they have the dream job!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I love illustrating, I used to make huge collages and moodboards when I was a young teen from magazines and ‘style books’ of trends I liked.

The last costume I created involved digital print which I had never done before, designing the print and creating the garment was challenging but definitely my  favourite piece of work I’ve done. Although I’m making a 1930′s bright yellow dress right now so that could top it off!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Eiko Ishioka is a spectacular designer as is Coleen Atwood – they are in the big leagues!

Visit Olivia’s website and Tweet her: @oliviarosee.

All images © Olivia Hulme. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

