Rebecca Rawlins

Rebecca Rawlings

Meet surface pattern designer Rebecca Rawlings.

Rebecca is based in West Yorkshire and has been drawing since she was very young. “I find great enjoyment in hand drawing illustrations to use in my surface design creations, I believe it gives the designs more personality,” she says. “I enjoy designing for all markets but especially interiors, stationary and greetings.”

She describes herself as a huge Haribo junkie and ‘the ultimate Disney fan’. And she averages ‘about ten coffees a day’. Sounds like us!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I completed my degree in Contemporary Surface Pattern design at Bradford College (an associate of Leeds Metropolitan) in 2011, since then i have completed two work placements. The first was at Hallmark Cards working alongside the Unique for Morrisons team on a range of cards, gift wraps, gift bags and tags for a female demographic. I produced a range from start to finish right the way through the initial drawing stages to mocking up the collection using flitter and foil.

The second placement was at Skew Studio in London working within a team of talented designers on reputable accounts for entertainment brands who were looking to take their brand from screen to shelf. I had the opportunity to work on many different things including visual research, product research, illustrations and helping with the production of style guides.

My aim is to find a design studio that will represent me!

What are your inspirations?

I find inspiration from various sources. I enjoy trawling high street stores, boutiques, charity shops and blogs for inspiration. I like to keep on top of what is on trend and will be on trend in seasons to come; however, I am not a slave to them!

I find vintage and retro styles very inspiring as they often contain a quirky edge – which complements my quirky style beautifully.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I have never felt so proud of myself (to date) as when I exhibited my final degree collection at New Designers in London 2011. The collection centred around some rather endearing Kitchen Sink Characters in the form of elderly teabags, which featured across many kitchen textiles and ceramics such as tea towels and tea pots. The image shown illustrates the different characters that I had invented including the knitting grandma, the market shopper, the loving grandad with his thick black glasses on and the slow moving teabag with his zimmer frame. That collection will always be special to me as it paved the way to many exciting opportunities.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

This is a very difficult question to answer! I admire the work of so many different designers but inparticular Orla Kiely. I really like the way that she takes inspiration from the past decades and interprets them in a contamporary way. This is something that I try to echo within my designs.

However, I dont have a favourite design and I enjoyed creating them all. I think that with each new collection I learn something new, everyday is a school day.

I look on the print and pattern blog daily and come across so many dsigners that I admire on a regular basis.

See more of Rebecca’s work here and visit her blog (‘I haven’t really kept up my blog but it’s something that I intend to get going with!’); Tweet her, @RebeccaRawlings.

All images © Rebecca Rawlings. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

