Emma Block

Emma Block

Meet Emma Block, a 20-something artist with a tendency to create the kind of work that most of us can only dream of.

And she’s more than just a pretty paintbrush – Miss Block blogs, Tweets and has illustrated for a variety of magazines, including Time Out.

As the first of our Young Creatives, Emma – who has been drawing for as long as she can remember – gives us an insight into her world.

Tell us a little about yourself…

I am an illustrator and student in my final year, living in London. I like art galleries, charity shops, tea and very sharp pencils. I create my work with a mixture of drawing, collage and painting.

What are your inspirations?

My work is inspired by the people I meet in my everyday life, old photos, vintage clothes, reading, travel and 1930s jazz.

What’s your favourite piece of work that you’ve produced?

I think my favourite piece that I have produced is Punting on the Camb, which was inspired by a trip to Cambridge last June. Everything was so beautiful and green and peaceful, and I sketched the ducks and the woman on the punt there. I created the piece with a mixture of paper, ink, paint and pencil when I got home, trying to capture this lovely moment.

Follow Emma on Twitter @emmablock, visit her website www.emmablock.co.uk and read her blog here.

All images © Emma Block. To view images in clearer detail, click on them.

©

12 thoughts on “Emma Block”

Leave a Reply

