Dee Andrews

Dee Andrews

This is Dee Andrews. Also in the picture is her pet rabbit, Luna, who sits faithfully by Dee’s side whilst she draws.

When she’s not drawing, Dee enjoys jigsaw puzzles, driving around in her Mini and (of course) the odd bit of shopping. Well don’t we all…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a student at the London College of Fashion, studying Fashion Illustration.  I have previously studied Fine Art.  I always loved drawing people, and as I got older, I became more interested in drawing what people wore –  I used to cover pieces of paper in drawings of women in dresses.  When I realised I could make a career out of this, I knew it was exactly my kind of job.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations come from the world around me, If I see somebody wearing a really fantastic outfit, or an amazing collection from a designer, I’ll want to illustrate it! I also read a lot of magazines and very recently, I have been using Twitter a lot.  You can find so many incredible illustrators on there, and even though you’ve never met them, you can look at their work, and find so many ideas.

What’s your favourite piece of work you’ve produced?

My favourite pieces of work at the moment are my series of legs.  I am a bit obsessed with legs, I think it’s wishing for long legs that does it!  I love to just get the shape of them in one unbroken line.  I also have a strange thing about socks!  Though I’m sure next week, I’ll have a new favourite piece!

Who’s your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I am an enormous fan of David Downton, he is the master of Fashion Illustration, and I was lucky enough to attend a talk he did at my university – I got to hear how he started out in his career – it was really helpful.

To see more of Dee’s work, visit her website, read her blog or Tweet her @DeeAndrews

All images © Dee Andrews.

2 thoughts on “Dee Andrews”

Leave a Reply

