Kim Jenkins

Meet Kim Jenkins, a.k.a. ‘The Sketchbook Artist’. 21-year-old Kim says that despite being a tad clumsy (‘I’m constantly falling over, bumping into things and burning myself whilst cooking!’) she has a delicate touch when it comes to drawing, producing many of her best bits of work at the rather dedicated hour of 3 in the morning…

Tell us a bit about yourself…
By day I am a mum to a 10-month-old baby boy (Jack) and a loving girlfriend to m boyfriend Will, and by night I am a freelance artist. I created my business The Sketchbook Artist at the beginning of last year, creating custom pencil portraits and handmade sketchbooks. I have studied Art & Design at different levels, I studied A Levels Graphics + Textiles, and then went on to study Art and Design at the level of a foundation degree. I did take this further and started studying Graphic Design at Degree level but it was not for me and I found out I was soon to become a mum. Leaving university gave me the push I needed to start my own business and to pursue my dreams and finally make them a reality.

What are your inspirations?
I find inspiration in anything and everything! Sometimes you have to look that little bit harder to see it but it’s always there. My son is my greatest achievement so far (who could have thought I could create something so adorable?) and so he is a great inspiration but also a great distraction. I find music is a must whilst drawing so I guess that is an inspiration too. My main inspiration though is the working artists and designers around me. They offer great support, advice and just someone to have a natter with. It also shows me that it is possible to make a success at this career and just like everything else it takes practice and a lot of hard work.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?
That’s a hard one! I have two favourites; a portrait of my son and also my first drawing, titled Pearls of Beauty. The one of my son is because it has such a likeness to him that I cant help but love it. The piece Pearls of Beauty will always have a special place in my heart though as it’s the reason I started my business. One day I just had the urge to draw something and so Pearls of Beauty was created, but it was just a hobby of mine, not a job. A few people saw this drawing and said that I should start up a business with my drawing, and I had such a great response from this one drawing that it gave me the confidence boost I needed to create ‘The Sketchbook Artist’.

Whose your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?
I would have to say a classic and go with Da Vinci, mainly because of the technical side to his work. A huge part of drawing portraits is proportions, if you get the proportions wrong then it won’t look like who you are trying to draw. Yes, it would look like a person but not the person you were attempting to draw. This I struggled with at my early stages of drawing portraits, I would constantly be trying to draw people, but they would never be recognizable as that person. Once I had learnt how to draw with proportion in mind then that’s when my work really started to get noticed, for any artists struggling with this, I suggest life drawing classes. They have changed my technical drawing forever and for the better!

Have a look at Kim’s Sketchbook Artist website, read her blog here and visit her online shop. Also Tweet her: @SketchbookArt

All images © Kim Jenkins.

Leave a Reply

