Nadia Khomami

Nadia Khomami is a London-based writer and poet who has an imagination so wonderful that a quick browse of her blog will leave you full of ideas and inspiration.

As a Barbican Young Poet she regularly showcases her work, and is currently working on a host of creative projects. Read on to find out why, exactly, Boris Johnson’s hairdresser and last night’s kebab inspire her…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Writing has been a lifelong passion of mine. This includes prose writing, poetry and journalism. For me, as for any writer I think, my work is not something I do out of habit but out of a certain necessity. A great majority of it can be accessed online, in print and at various spoken word events around London.

What are your inspirations?

The every day. I’ve never thought that a piece of writing has to be fantastical or so compelled by fiction that it holds no relevance to your average person. The style of writing can be archaic, but I think it’s the little things in life that stand out as themes; a moment, a memory or an event that sparks some sort of connection or familiarisation in the mind of the reader. To me, creative writing and especially poetry is not only an expression of the inner, but also a reflection of the outer, and I believe this to apply to everyone and everything. It’s never going to be a particular, well-known rags-to-riches story, or a tragic Shakespearean love affair that inspires me. It’s going to be that last kebab you had on a night out, the unexpected midnight text you received off your ex, Boris Johnson’s barbers… So I guess my inspiration must be modern life, a mixture of my own experiences and those of my audience.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

What I’m working on now. It isn’t a written piece per se, but a team of us are in the process of launching a series of spoken word and music events, aimed at bringing artists of different genres and backgrounds together. It’ll be great to see what happens when you throw a bunch of poets, artists and musicians into the same room. The potential collaborations could be breathtaking, either because they’re really effective, or really defective!

Whose your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I wouldn’t say I’ve ever had one ‘favourite.’ I look up to writers that aren’t bound by their discipline, inspiration or expectations. At the moment, I’m really enjoying getting to know the poets that perform at poetry events. That’s something I owe to the Barbican Young Poets Collective, which I am a part of. Our mentors, Jacob Sam-La Rose and Dorothy Fryd, for example, are both excellent poets and performers.

Say hello to @Nadiakhomami and to read about more of her inspirations, visit her Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

