Lee Simpson

20-year-old Lee Simpson is a very busy bunny. A musician through and through – in his own words, ‘When I’m not studying music, I’m either listening to it or playing it’ – he can also be found on the hockey pitch, captaining his university’s men’s team.

A self-confessed eccentric with a constantly whirring mind, Lee is always full of ideas which see him either ‘running to the piano, or writing on my hand or something’.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a 20-year-old undergraduate studying Music Composition at Middlesex University. I’ve been a musician for 14 years and I play violin, guitar and piano. When I graduate, I’m hoping to go into the film industry as a composer or orchestrator. I’m also involved in a band called Joan’s Immolation; I write and play guitar for that, and we’ve had a great time playing gigs in and around London.

What inspires you?

I’m heavily inspired by film composers (obviously), particularly. I think that the real merit of a piece of music for film comes when you can listen to it without the pictures and still find it interesting.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I guess the piece of work I’m most proud of is also my most recent; I wrote a 4-movement String Quartet that I’m having performed and recorded soon. I guess I’m glad I managed to complete it to a standard I was happy with because it’s quite a difficult form to write for, and once I finished it, it felt like I’d passed a milestone on the way to my career.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Howard Shore, who wrote the music for Lord of the Rings, and Hans Zimmer (Pirates of the Caribbean, Inception, Gladiator) are great influences on my writing.

To listen to Joan’s Immolation, visit the band’s MySpace page, and Tweet Lee @LeeBartSimpson.

Leave a Reply

