Aindrea Emelife

Our youngest creative to date, Aindrea Emelife is a fashion writer with a serious penchant for shoes.

Aindrea loves The Velvet Underground almost as much as she loves her heels, and describes herself as a ‘rock ‘n’ roll flower child’. Want to find out more? You know what to do…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a seventeen-year-old fashion writer with an affinity with words and infatuation with shoes. I started writing for publications at the age of fourteen, when I attended my first London Fashion Week and have found myself addicted to the industry. When I’m not doing my homework, I’m writing articles, and when I’m not doing that, I’m posting on my blog, RAGS. My life seems to be focused on the written word. I’m also a closet poet… my poetry is everything I’m not willing to say.

What are your inspirations?

I’m so inspired by independent fashion magazines. My favourites being Tank, Under/Current, Pop and Love. I like magazines which seem more of an art form than glossy sheets of consumerism and wasted luxury. I’m inspired by text and antiquarian books. That old book smell. The yellowing pages and ink inscriptions on the cover… I love it! I also have a great interest in art, and as an Art History student, I enjoy drawing parallels between the works of great artists and the creations of designers and fashion photographers.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favourite pieces of work are always the latest article I have written. With every article I can see myself developing as a writer, developing a particular style and becoming more comfortable with how I express my thoughts in a coherent manner, with creative flair.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Tim Blanks. There are few fashion writers that can write thousands words of ranting, referencing anthropological references embedded in McQueen collections and keep my attention, but his articles are fiercely captivating and provocative. Blanks, I salute you.

Read Aindrea’s blog, Rags, and Tweet her @Aindrea

One thought on “Aindrea Emelife”

Leave a Reply

