Caitlin Murphy

This is Caitlin Murphy. She’s not sure what she’s doing in this photograph (‘Am I sleeping or am I just thinking? I don’t know…’) but one thing that she is confident of is her ability as an artist.

When not getting creative, Caitlin enjoys listening to Thom Yorke, and, rather more unusually, takes part in a Medieval reenactment society. Read on to find out more about this N.Y.-based Corgi lover.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a 20-year-old multimedia visual artist living in Upstate New York. I attended Alfred University for a year but due to financial difficulties could no longer attend, and after a year of couch surfing I ended up living here in Alfred again. I work at a commercial printer’s in Hornell, NY and am interested in learning more about printmaking. I’ve been extraordinarily lucky to have good friends: I’m shifting and changing a lot and meeting new people and getting to know them is probably my current most time-consuming activity. At the minute I’m working on becoming a better-known artist.

What are your inspirations?

I’m inspired by a lot of things, whether it be a song I’m listening to, work by some of my favorite artists, or videos of various processes I’m interested in. I’m also inspired by other talented people and love to see people’s work, listen to their ideas, and see what others have to say about my own work. I’d love to work collaboratively more often.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Usually my favorite pieces are whatever I happen to be working on or have finished working on most recently. Right now my most recent painting Growth and the pieces I’m working on for some sort of continuation on that theme.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Right now there are two favorites fighting for the top spot on my list- James Jean and David Choe. I like both for very different reasons; I admire James Jean’s style and perfectionist nature in rendering his paintings which is not unlike my own, and I am inspired by David Choe’s just do what you want kind of attitude which I’m trying to emulate in myself.

Tweet Caitlin @noentusuke1, or read her blog here.

All images © Caitlin Murphy. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

