Louise Wright

This is Louise Wright who, when not drawing, enjoys tea and chocolate (‘they solve almost anything’). There are two animal-related facts you should know about her. 1) If she had a dog, she’d call him Mr. Sparkles. ‘No one else finds this amusing at all. Just typing it is making me laugh.’ 2) If she stays up beyond 10pm, the 10 o’clock horses will take her away. ‘I was told this when I was a child. Many a nightmare ensued!’

Contrary to this, Louise is not ‘barking’ (excuse the pun…). Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an aspiring picture book artist and third year illustration student in Birmingham. I have a love for tea, animals and I keep a rather large book collection (which I hope to keep expanding!) My work is mixed media and all done by hand, computers upset me.

What inspires you?

My inspirations come from nature, music and everyday life. I like to take a mundane idea and mix it up a little. I had a little fun writing a story about a boy that got an octopus stuck on his head once.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of artwork I’ve produced may have to be the penguin I’ve included here. It symbolises me having a mental block and there he is, all he can think about is fish! It amuses me when I look at it and I’m really pleased with the colours in it and the textures, there’s all sorts of materials used in it, from oil pastels to watercolour!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

One of my absolute favourite creatives has to be Oliver Jeffers, I love his collage work and his stories please me so much (no child can appreciate them like I do! )

Visit Louise’s brand new website Lou Illustrator and Tweet her, @LouIllustrator

All images © Louise Wright. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

theyoungcreatives

Just another WordPress.com site

Louise Wright

leave a comment »

This is Louise Wright who, when not drawing, enjoys tea and chocolate (‘they solve almost anything’). There are two animal-related facts you should know about her. 1) If she had a dog, she’d call him Mr. Sparkles. ‘No one else finds this amusing at all. Just typing it is making me laugh.’ 2) If she stays up beyond 10pm, the 10 o’clock horses will take her away. ‘I was told this when I was a child. Many a nightmare ensued!’

Contrary to this, Louise is not ‘barking’ (excuse the pun…). Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an aspiring picture book artist and third year illustration student in Birmingham. I have a love for tea, animals and I keep a rather large book collection (which I hope to keep expanding!) My work is mixed media and all done by hand, computers upset me.

What inspires you?

My inspirations come from nature, music and everyday life. I like to take a mundane idea and mix it up a little. I had a little fun writing a story about a boy that got an octopus stuck on his head once.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of artwork I’ve produced may have to be the penguin I’ve included here. It symbolises me having a mental block and there he is, all he can think about is fish! It amuses me when I look at it and I’m really pleased with the colours in it and the textures, there’s all sorts of materials used in it, from oil pastels to watercolour!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

One of my absolute favourite creatives has to be Oliver Jeffers, I love his collage work and his stories please me so much (no child can appreciate them like I do! )

Visit Louise’s brand new website Lou Illustrator and Tweet her, @LouIllustrator

Written by The Young Creatives Edit

January 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Posted in Picture Perfect

So what exactly is TYC?

leave a comment »

We’ve given it some thought and decided that we should probably clarify what exactly we are, and what we are aiming to do.

The Young Creatives is:

  • a platform for young people (aged 25 and under) to showcase their work
  • a means of discovering and supporting emerging talents
  • an opportunity for creative young people to congregate, network and get recognition within their chosen field

What opportunities are there going to be?

  • At the moment we’re still very much a fledgling project, and we’re currently working on building our ‘catalogue’ of creatives
  • However, we are soon planning on offering editorial opportunities (unpaid, but great experience) to budding journalists and writers, and the chance for artists to illustrate their work.
  • We encourage people to send us their ideas for pieces that they would either like to produce, or ideas they would like us to take on board or cover in the future.

Where do you come into this?

  • Follow us on Twitter and spread the word about TYC so that we get as wide a range of talent up as possible
  • Contribute – if you haven’t already contacted us about being featured then we want to hear from YOU! If you are featured, we will then Tweet you – and if you could RT the Tweet containing the link to your post on the blog, that would be brilliant.
  • Constructive criticisms are always welcomed – we’d love to hear what you think of the site, or what you’d like to see covered, what you’re not so keen on and etc.

In short – whilst we’re still in very early days, TYC is an ever-growing project that needs your help to keep expanding!

Written by The Young Creatives Edit

January 24, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Posted in Jibber Jabber

Tahgasa Bertram

leave a comment »

This is Tahgasa Bertram, a.k.a. the Sweaty Eskimo. For a sweaty fella, he’s actually pretty cool. This chicken-addicted (‘outside of the igloo, Nando’s is my second home…’) artist is full of ideas so clever and colourful that the work he produces practically bounces off the page.

The name alone is intriguing enough, but there’s a lot more to find out about the Sweaty Eskimo. Read on!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a chicken loving, ginger beer drinking, self-taught freelance illustrator, hailing from the not-so-sunny city that is Birmingham, and studied briefly at Birmingham Metropolitan College before taking the no-education route into the industry.

All the illustrations I produce are hand-drawn and edited in Photoshop. My work is a visual insight into how I visualize things in my mind. My illustrations are very imaginative, colourful and bold, and I think they represent me perfectly.

What are your inspirations?

I wouldn’t say I’m directly inspired by anything visually and tend not to spend too much time looking at other people’s work. I think I’m scared of other designers’ work creeping into mine. A lot of designers cover their walls with posters and vinyl toys etc. My walls are all plain, as I don’t need the work of others to inspire me or help me with ideas.

I’m more inspired by people’s achievements. Looking at where they are in the industry and how they got there. I just keep working hard on my style and hopefully I’ll get far in the industry.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

Oh wow! Tricky question. I’d have to say the latest project I did, which was an ad campaign for clothing label, Boxfresh. They teamed up with another fashion label, Cut & Swallow, and East London MC, Mx Bratt, to produce a new clothing range. I was asked by Boxfresh to produce 5 music, London, and fashion theme illustrations to accompany photos of the new range.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Right now, I love the work of Johanna Basford. Her hand-drawn illustration work, being predominantly black and white, is the complete opposite to mine but it’s awesome nonetheless.  The amount of detail she includes is amazing and I’m surprised any human has that kind of patience!

Visit www.sweatyeskimo.co.uk to see more of Tahgasa’s work, Tweet him @SweatyEskimo and have a look at his profiles on Behance and cpluv.com

N.B. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Louise Wright”

Leave a Reply

