Emanuelle Esposti

This is Emanuelle Esposti, a journo-in-the-making who has also been known to dabble in rock-climbing and white-water rafting (to name but a few).

Having graduated last summer, Emanuelle has been spending her time interning at various publications in London. ‘When I’m not working, I love to explore the streets of London,’ she says. ‘I’m always discovering wonderful new places.’

Want to find out more? Read on.

Tell us a little about yourself…

Writing, reading and communicating have always had a huge sway over me, and I have a burning desire to engage with and document everything and everyone I come across – whether in words, pictures, memories or fleeting impressions… Half-English, half-Italian, and having lived in various different countries, I believe my childhood experiences have shaped who and what I am today (Freud would certainly approve) and my love of languages, places and people push me towards learning and seeing as much of this world as I possibly can. I recently graduated from Oxford with a degree in French and Philosophy and I’m fluent in French, Italian and English and am learning Arabic. My greatest aspirations in life are to travel and to write, so naturally I am currently pursuing a career in journalism!

What are your inspirations?

A photograph from Emanuelle's travels

People, and books. Nothing inspires me more than hearing the stories of the people I meet and having the privilege of seeing a snapshot of their lives. When these stories are in turn written down and turned into tomes, I love to immerse myself in the words and the images and discover something new and exciting about the world and the people in it. The place that has most inspired me is the Middle East, especially Syria.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

Perhaps it’s the curse of being a writer, but I find that no matter how engrossed and caught up I am in whichever work I am currently pursuing, as soon as I have completed it then, more often than not, I lose interest in it. Call me a perfectionist or call me crazy, but I find more value in the actual process of writing and creating than in the finished products. I write for myself and for my own enjoyment, and I don’t necessarily care what the outcome of that is!

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

I find it difficult having a “favourite” author, because not only am I discovering new and amazing authors all the time, but my mood also dictates what I want to be reading. That being said, there are several authors and journalists who I will never cease to admire because they challenge expectations in the search for truth and clarity: George Orwell (yes, I know it’s a cliché, but it’s true!), Voltaire, Diderot (there’s my French degree coming out), Robert Fisk, John Pilger and Ayn Rand.

Read Emanuelle’s blog here and Tweet her @edesposti

Leave a Reply

