Kelly Cording

This is Kelly Cording: mother (‘to a one-year-old rascal’), wife (‘to a graphic designer’) and writer. She also works as a web designer. In amongst all this, she is currently working her way through a degree in English Language and Literature, which she is completeing via the Open University from her home. ‘I live in a tiny village,’ Kelly says. ‘Miles from – well, anything really!’; the village is full of ‘characters’, meaning that inspiration for her own work is never too far away.

And what about her spare time – in between all the mothering, wifing, web designing, writing and studying (we’re tired just thinking about it…) ? ‘I’m a big advocate of eating, drinking and being merry,’ Kelly says. ‘Oh, and shopping, too!’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Web design is my profession but writing fiction is my passion. I have been reading books since I can remember and I have always appreciated their ability to captivate me and trigger so many emotions. For me, reading a good book is like stepping into another world, seeing other friends and living a whole different life – if only for ten minutes whilst on a busy train! I started writing my own stories about ten years ago, for friends and family. I wanted people to jump into my world, instead of me jumping into theirs for once. Hatty Holiday is a story blog which I try to update weekly, about a fourteen year old girl in a fantastical world, on a quest to save her mother from an evil tribe of warriors. It’s a bit weird, full of twists and turns, packed with adventure… I think you might like it!

What are your inspirations?

I’d say that my story blog is inspired by a mixture of Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien and the 1984 movie, The Labyrinth. I love the fantastical characters, twists & turns and the amazing adventure which takes place in both stories. I think my biggest inspiration though is The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub – an amazing fantasy novel. If you’ve never read it and enjoy a good adventure, read it!

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I wrote a short story for an Open University assignment I was working on last year, called ‘Madagascan Blood Reds’. It was about a florist who desperately wanted to win a flower competition and beat an old florist rival. He was given some exotic seeds by a friend who assured him would grow into prize-winning flowers… Let’s just say that they turned out a bit more demanding than he had bargained for!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I’d say that my favourite author of all time has to be Stephen King. I love his wild and totally twisted imagination, and the way he can bring his characters alive and make you feel like they are your best friends. I always feel like I have lost friends when I finish one of his books! If I ever get stuck when I’m writing, I aways ask myself, ‘what would Stephen do here?’

Follow Hatty Holiday’s adventures here and Tweet Kelly: @KellyCording

Leave a Reply

