Meg Hutchinson

This is Meg Hutchinson, an 18-year-old photographer with a love for drawing, debating and music. Originally from a small village in Devon, she recently (very recently, in fact!) moved to London and is pursuing her dream. ‘I don’t have one of those stories,’ she says. ‘You know, the sort where people say they’ve been taking pictures since they were born, etc. etc. I love dressing up with my friends, and I used to use my dad’s camera to take pictures of us. It then dawned on me that this was something that I could do as a career.’

Meg is keen to learn on the job, and is currently pursuing internships and assistant-style jobs until she is able to (as she puts it) stand on her own two feet. Her ultimate dream is to ‘live in a lovely big house and do whatever I wanted whenever I wanted. I know it might not be too realistic, but it would certainly be nice though…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a young (aspiring) photographer. I finally moved to London just over a week ago after leaving school back in October, so I guess you could say I’m a drop-out. Although photography is my biggest passion there are so many things I’d like to get into: I love writing, films, styling, interiors, anything creative detached from reality really. I’m a big fan of film and so I’d love to say that one day I see myself directing or something but who knows, all you need to know about me is that I’m happiest when I’m creating, I drink lots of tea, I love cities and I’m always dreaming about something or someone…

What inspires you?

Everything. I’m very visual, so films, art/fashion/photography books, things in the street, music videos, short films, magazines, everything!! But for a quick burst of inspiration I find Tumblr really useful and Pinterest, they’re great because you can inspire yourself by looking for particular “tags”. Also music and literature, especially poetry – because sometimes the imagery is so weird or there can be a particular scene and it can be an interesting thing to try and convey that in work, or at least start at that point…

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I don’t know, I don’t feel I’ve done enough to have a favourite. I’d say one of the photos of Andrea that I took, the black and white one with a lot of texture, I was pretty happy with that.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are so many I could name. Many of the obvious bad boys and girls of photography from history, but also a lot of contemporary photographers out there today : Lina Scheynius, Michael Donovan, Mario Sorrenti, Tim Walker. It depends on my mood and what I’m going for, but really anyone that is just doing what they love and creating something interesting and beautiful.

Have a look at some of Meg’s photography here, have a look at her blog and her Tumblr, and Tweet her: @Meg_Hutchie

All images © Meg Hutchinson; to view photos in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

