James Boast

Time for another illustrator: meet James Boast, a London-based student. Or, as his friends refer to him, ‘Grandad Boast’ – ‘I like putting my slippers on and reading a good book or two,’ James explains.

Aside from his artistic tendencies, James enjoys cycling, and loves ‘geting lost’ on bike rides. Read on to discover more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a freelance illustrator based in North London, I am available for commissions, collaborations and anything else related. I also write the longest lists in the world and am currently in my third year at Middlesex University.

What are your inspirations?

I am inspired hugely by birds, mainly magpies: I think they make me imagine a sense of freedom and escapism. As well as that, the sea and seaside towns, tattoos, pretty girls, folk music and swimming (being underwater in a completely different world) all fill me with ideas.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work to date has probably got to be the unfinished artist book that I have been working on for a couple of months, its based on my housemates so has a fun feel to it and constantly gets updated with different ideas. It’s sort of like a digital ongoing sketchbook.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Currently I’d say my favourite illustrator would be Oliver Jeffers due to his way of almost reinventing childrens books to suit parents as well as the children. Every illustration is well thought about and beautifully illustrated, he also constantly improves his techniques.

Read James’ blog and Tweet him: @JamesBoast

All images © James Boast. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

