Katie Walters

This lovely lady is Katie Walters, an illustrator from Canada. When not creating her vibrant artwork, Katie loves listening to live jazz, watching old movies and finding ‘yellowed books from the thrift store’.

Katie describes herself as ‘a hopeless romantic’, and she’s also something of a vintage jewellery fiend. She loves Martha Stewart and is a self-confessed compulsive sketcher. Read on to discover more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…
I create illustrations for fashion and lifestyle publications and websites. I studied illustration at Niagara College of Art and Technology here in Ontario, Canada. I’m 25 years of age and have been focusing on my art for the past 24 years. I take my art seriously and try not to take my self too seriously. I’m an absolute nerd. World history, cosmology, philosophy, these are all exciting things. When not creating artwork in my studio, I’m at the Blackjack tables playing with fire. Either that or snuggled on the couch with my boyfriend watching a movie like Chocolat or something equally as distasteful.

What are your inspirations?
As haphazard as it sounds, everything inspires me!  I’m a devotee of impressionism and expressionism. I love classic art and sculpture such as Botticelli and Michelangelo, and modernistic art, whatever that is. Pop art, as the old people call it. I’m currently listening to lots of Electronica and New Age type music (like the Scissor Sisters, Santogold and eRa), and reading classical literature including Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald. I love fashion, especially the futuristic trends that are taking over the runways, particularly John Galliano, Alexander McQueen and Christian Lacroix (we need Lacroix back!). Current events and typical daily conversations can also motivate my work. Although I’m infatuated with fashion and fabulous shopping finds, I politely declined the metropolitan Sex and the City life in favor of the country bumpkin life. My artistic temperament needs long windy picturesque roads to walk down and a forest in the backyard (for the cats to play in).

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?
I’d have to say my favourite piece is what I’ve entitled Lonely Hearts Club, the forlorn fellow in the red field. This is the first painting I produced entirely using the digital impressionism/expressionism technique I’ve come up with. This illustration was on exhibit at the Society of Illustrators Museum in NYC this passed December, which was considerably exciting for me.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?
My top artists are Van Gogh, Gustav Klimt, and René Gruau. I can go off with a list of 30 artists I consider favorites, however I will restrain myself and stop at three.

Have a look at Katie’s website, read her blog, A Thousand Words Illustration and Tweet her: @KatieWalters25

All images © Katie Walters. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

