Angela Ferreira

Say hello to Angela Ferreira a.k.a. Kruella d’Enfer, a street artist from Portugal who creates eye-poppingly vivid artwork.

On sunny days (we bet those are few and far between in Portugal…), she loves nothing more than riding her customized bicycle. Angela also works part-time as a DJ, which is handy as she loves music, especially hip hop, dubstep and electronic. Oh, and ‘all that weird future music, too’.

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Hello! I’m a 22-year-old street artist and illustrator from a city called Caldas da Rainha, which is near Lisbon in Portugal. I work as a freelance in my own studio. I was born on Halloween, so that’s probably the main reason for my passion for the unusual, the villains, the bad guys, the trouble-makers, the awkward characters and scenarios. I feel like a villain too, that’s why I’m Kruella d’Enfer.

What are your inspirations?

First of all, I feel inspired by the city where I live. Its a very peaceful place. It has an Arts and Design college, so its a youthful place, with lots of creative people, lots of exhibitions, street art, concerts, etc. Then I love all that esoteric subjects, like astronomy, tarot, mysticism, and so on! I could spend hours searching for images and books with all that subjects. And of course the music and the graffiti on the streets always helps me get ideas for my works!

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

Last December I had my first collective exhibition (MAGA 2010) here in the city I live, I chose the Tarot as the subject for the illustration I did. It’s definitely my best piece of work so far . Its called The Devil and its a hand drawn illustration, with lots of details. I was very proud of it when I finished it.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have to say my favourite illustrator is AKACORLEONE. He has this awesome style and skills! There are loads of artists who I admire: Grems, Remed, Crispy Copper, Finsta, Theo Wellsworth, Elzo, and so on. But definitely I cannot forget the huge ones like Magritte and Salvador Dali, I’m fascinated for all the Surrealism artists.

Have a look at Angela’s Flickr and read her blog here.

All images © Kruella d’Enfer. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Angela Ferreira”

Leave a Reply

