Sophie's final project at university

Sophie Bold

This is Sophie Bold, an event and exhibition designer and planner from Liverpool. She’s known she has wanted to work in design from an early age. ‘I appeared on Diggit (the ITV program) when I was 10, and realising that someone actually got paid to design the sets, I knew that design I was something I wanted to be involved in when I grew up.’

And now that she is ‘grown up’, she is making her dreams come true. When not working, Sophie is addicted to arts, crafts and Twitter (aren’t we all…), and says that she could quite happily spend the rest of her life reading cookery books. This love of recipe books has led to her coming up with a rather intricate plan B should design not quite work out: ‘I plan to open a deli with my best friend, stocking all the amazing food and drink made by some of my followers on Twitter,’ says Sophie. ‘Or failing that, I’ll take over a friend’s pork pie empire.’ Curiouser and curiouser…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

The sculpture created for Download

I graduated in June 2010 with a degree in Theatre, Performance and Event design from Birmingham City University. Since leaving University I have moved back to Liverpool and been able to gain experience within National Museums Liverpool, BBC Good Food Show and Halewood Arts Association (a local art organisation). I’m an active volunteer and spend most of my time organising events and running art workshops for a local Junior Artists Club.

What are your inspirations?

Liverpool has always inspired me so much, just walking around and knowing how much history the city has really inspires me. The Albert Dock particularly has to be one of my favourite places in the world and inspired my final major project a lot. I have always found myself interested by architecture and anything craft based. I assist with a local art association and using art to motivate children is something I really enjoy. I envy the work they produce at times.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Sophie's final project at university
Sophie's final project at university

For my final major project in university, I chose to design and create an exhibition that showed the journey an emigrant would take when they made the decision to leave Liverpool for Australia in the 19th Century. It was a great opportunity to show another side of Liverpool’s history and inform people there is a lot more to Liverpool than football and The Beatles. It made me feel very proud to tell the story of the emigrants who went through so much to make a better life for themselves. Working for Download festival too was great. I worked alongside Amy Cox, a fellow designer, to create 1 of 10 sculptures that decorated the campsite. Getting a free staff ticket and being able to go backstage was brilliant.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have two answers for this as it is too hard to pick one. Firstly, Janey Butler of Sweet Days and Roses. Janey is a wedding planner who I have been following on Twitter for a while. She designs beautiful weddings and I am lucky enough to be able to work alongside her in May, something I can’t wait for. My second is Diane Butner, director of Event Design for MGM Resort Events in Las Vegas. She is amazing at what she does and has been so kind to offer me brilliant advice regarding the event industry over the past couple of months.

Read Sophie’s blog, visit her website and Tweet her: @SophieScouse.

To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

