Sky Nash

This is Sky Nash, a London-based bookmaker. No, silly, she doesn’t run a betting shop – rather, she creates books, breathing life in to each and every page. She also draws, and writes a rather good blog.

Sky also makes an incredible cup of coffee (if she says so herself), a skill she has had plenty of time to hone as her favourite place to draw is her kitchen.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m in my second year of university, doing a degree in Book Arts and Design. I love making books and drawing. I quite enjoy telling stories and illustrating them.

What are your inspirations?

My main inspiration is the library at university – I spend a lot of time just picking up random books and seeing where they take me. Usually they take me down obscure and weird tangents.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

At the moment, it’s a book I made during my first year of university. I took the Little Miss Muffet rhyme and remade it, using lino prints. This version was done without inking up the lion.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Yoshitomo Nara, his work is so exciting!!

Read Sky’s blog, and have a look at her Flickr and Etsy pages. Tweet her, too: @SkyNash.

All images © Sky Nash. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

