Natasha Supple

Meet Natasha Supple – she’s as flexible when it comes to her creativity as her name implies and her talents include writing and photography. Her camera is called Imogen. ‘Oh dear,’ she wrote immediately after confessing her camera has a name. ‘Even admitting that in writing I am probably sounding quite strange!’ On her blog she describes herself as ‘a china doll…made of diamonds’, which she believes can be said of everyone – ‘we all have greatness inside’.

Natasha likes tea and Jaffa Cakes (well, obviously), and loves a sunset, having taken more photographs of them then anything else.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I would say I am a cautious character of chaos. I am a writer because I love to inform and entertain simply using the art of the written word. I question through my pen, the world around me and believe in questioning everything. I see with my camera and as a second year Motion Graphics student  at Ravensbourne I am rarely without it. I am author of Recklessly, Headlessly which is where my love for the English Language and Photography come together, hopefully resulting in musings that can indulge any intrigued mind.

What inspires you?

My amazing parents and sister, they provide me with the courage to create. They are ambassadors of hard work and perseverance, anyone with a passion for their craft is an inspiration of mine.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

The first is Good Souls Make For Good Soles which was whimsical in its conception as I frequently battle with finding my strengths within design and also from a general perspective. This resulted in a metaphorical construct of when you know something isn’t quite right – much like the idea of wearing the wrong shoes. With this piece I was able to include photographs that I had taken and this piece is an example of how I combine writing with photography, which is just a natural form of expression for me. The second is Behind Blind Eyes. I wrote this piece whilst stuck in insane traffic on a bus. I was worried about being late and wishing I was anywhere but there. Without even meeting this man he taught me to be grateful not for the good times nor the bad but just for time itself. Without ever knowing it – him meeting me or I him – it translated into a piece of work I am extremely proud of.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite author is D.H. Lawrence – Lady Chatterley’s Lover is a must read. My fave photographer is Rankin because I love close-up shots and how much detail there is in the face; just the subject, the camera and minimal set design. It is so intimate and raw, I just cannot get enough.

Read Natasha’s blog, and have a look at some of her photography. Also Tweet her: @NatashaSupple.

All images © Natasha Supple. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

