Diana Nortey

This is Diana Nortey, a writer. She is currently based in London but blames her spelling of certain words on living in Baltimore, Maryland, for a while. ‘What are my hobbies?’ says Diana. ‘Writing, writing, writing…shall I go on?’ No need – we get the picture!

Diana lists three of her favourite things as turtles, positive energy and cranberry juice, and she just generally loves life. Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m 22 (23 in July, eek!) and I’m an avid believer in God. Writing is like second nature to me, and that’s what I’m all about. Shorts, flash fiction, poetry (seldomly!) any general prose, that’s me! I’m a bubbly person, I don’t really like too much trouble, I love to laugh; my laugh has always been labelled as ‘contagious’ and I love to make people happy, so if that’s one way I can do it, I’m good! I’m part of a company called Enpower, whose motto is enpowering the youth of today. I also do a bit of writing there, and I’m currently the editor of a bi-monthly newsletter that informs readers of what’s going on, and topics that are in the now for the youth. I just want to make it in life, and that’s what I’m certainly going to do!

What are your inspirations?

Anything inspires me. Seeing the wind rustle leaves, seeing a crowd of people pushing themselves on a packed tube train, listening to people’s voices as they talk to each other– this inspires me in terms of getting ideas for writing! It’s not hard, I can be on a bus, and ideas drop into my mind. One time, I was on a bus and there was a little child chewing some bubble gum and was eating it like it was a piece of spaghetti.. I wrote a flash fic about it. Just little things like that get my imagination rolling!

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I have two pieces. I wrote a Snapshot story entitled Misfortune about a mother in turmoil because her eldest daughter ran away. And I wrote another piece called Perfection just outlining how some girls will do anything to be perfect.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Mine are all authors – Hanif Kureishi, Wally Lamb and Malorie Blackman.

Read Diana’s blog and have a look at some of her work on her WritersCafe page. Also Tweet her: @LadyDeevine.

Leave a Reply

