Rachel Cowey

Meet 24-year-old Rachel Cowey – blogger, ambassador, volunteer and aspiring journalist.

Currently living in Australia, and originally hailing from t’up North in England (‘I’m very proud of my Geordie accent!’ Rachel says), Rachel dreams of one day living in the Big Apple. Her goal is to work either as a journalist or a teacher, and hopes to do her PGCE this year.

Read on to find out more about her blogging, charity work and inspirations.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I did my undergrad degree in French and German; and my MA in Magazine Journalism. I currently write for All Walks, My Personal Best, Lageneve events and Where Is Your Line. I am currently living in Sydney, Australia where I have been travelling and doing magazine work experience. I’m home ward bound for the UK next month! I am a Young Ambassador for the charity Beat, which promotes the awareness of eating disorders. I want to help people in their recovery from an eating disorder, as well as make the public and media more aware of how serious an eating disorder is. I am also a volunteer for My Personal Best – a website encouraging young people who are inspiring – I am the co-manager of their Twitter account.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations? Anyone who has recovered or who is recovering from an eating disorder; the charity Beat; organisations like Body Gossip, All Walks Beyond The Catwalk and Adios Barbie; my own life.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My whole blog in general as each piece is very personal to me.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite author is Malorie Blackman as I adore her Noughts and Crosses trilogy. I don’t have a favourite journalist as of yet but I do admire all of the journalists at Company magazine as I think their articles are snappy and witty.

Read Rachel’s blog here and Tweet her: @GhostOfAGirl.

Leave a Reply

