Anna Gwenllian

Say hello to Anna Gwenllian, an illustrator from Wales.

Anna loves animals, especially cats, bunnies and bird (‘basically anything that is cute and fluffy!’). Her music tastes vary according to how her mood takes her, and she has a particular penchant for 80’s rock music. She likes cheese, and she also likes Marmite, and she particularly likes cheese and Marmite together. Yummy.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My name’s Anna, I’m 23 and I graduated from a Graphic Communication BA(Hons) course in Cardiff in June 2009. While I was there I learned a lot about graphics, but my true passion is illustration, drawing by hand. After graduating I stayed in Cardiff and got a “normal” office job and did illustration and drawing just in my spare time as a hobby. But due to circumstances in November 2010, I needed to move back home up to North Wales. At the beginning of this year/after christmas decided that illustration is what I truly want to do and now I’m pursuing it with everything I’ve got! So I’m currently building on my portfolio and my website, so hopefully I’ll have a website up soon.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations… Everything inspires me! Family, friends, people who are ambitious. In my work I’m inspired by beautiful art, and colourful things, along with buildings/architecture, movies/characters in movies, music, nature, beautiful and strong women, views/landscape views (I’m lucky enough to live somewhere with such a beautiful one!)

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work I’ve done is probably my city scenes, or the original ones I did in my 2nd year of uni (which were similar style, but of one building) for a project and exhibition. I love putting in the colour on photoshop afterwards too, I like putting in bright colours, I wish everywhere was as colourful as them (well, some already are)!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are so many artists, designers, illustrators out there who I admire and are amazing, but one artist/painter who I’m completely inspired by is Joshua Petker. He combines, colour, beautiful women, and gore, which I love! I was introduced to his work from a friend from Uni and I’ve been hooked ever since!

Have a look at Anna’s blog here and Tweet her: @AnnaGwenllian.

All images © Anna Gwenllian. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

2 thoughts on “Anna Gwenllian”

  1. Yey Anna! I like your birds best! I have a good book to show you. You may remember Iwan talking about this book and how hard it was to get hold off (a sketch book of birds by Tuncliffe) I got mine fir £4 from the carboot.

Leave a Reply

