Donna Wearmouth

Meet Donna Wearmouth, a 23-year-old graphic designer and a recent (First Class with Honours) student of Northumbria University. ‘I never thought I’d complete a degree,’ laughs Donna. ‘I just thought it wouldn’t be for me. But I met some great people whilst at uni!’

As well as her design work, Donna also runs Graphitas, a collection of design, photography, illustration and exhibitions. When not designing or blogging, Donna can be found cooking and baking. ‘I recently made up a random recipe for tomato and pepper soup,’ she says. ‘The recipe just consisted of chucking in things from the fridge!’ And how about the baking? ‘Well,’ says Donna. ‘The cakes always go down very well in the studio…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Whilst at Northumbria, I achieved membership to the prestigious International Society of Typographic Designers (ISTD) following the 2010 Student Assessment. Since graduating in July of 2010, I joined the design team at Gardiner Richardson in Newcastle upon Tyne as a Junior Designer.

Whilst at University, as well as achieving membership to ISTD, I also exhibited at D&AD New Blood in June 2010.  I was also part of  Eh? at Electrik Sheep exhibition at Electrik Sheep Gallery in Newcastle, during May 2010.

So, what am I doing in 2011 so far… Still working full time at Gardiner Richardson. Alongside this I do a bit of freelance design work, as well as running a blog called ‘graphitas’. I’m currently working on a few different identity projects. I’ve recently completed our studio’s 2011 Calendar called Twenty-Six. As we’re a studio based around the idea of creating conversations, we decided to create a calendar around the 26 letters in the alphabet, the idea that we all have the same 26 letters to work with, but it’s how you use them that makes a difference.

What are your inspirations?

To be honest, I’m not really inspired by anyone or anything in particular. I love trawling design sites, blogs and books for inspiration. It can come from anything.  I like the minimalist work of the likes of Josef Müller-Brockmann and Fraser Muggeridge. I like grids and simple, uncluttered layouts. Although simple is never that easy to achieve! A book I always seem to come back to for influence is ColourMania by Victionary. It’s weird because I tend to think in black and white rather than colour! I also like having a read through various magazines including Process Journal, Eight:48, and Grafik (when it returns this week).

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I quite like how my Quadra Gallery (a fictional gallery) project turned out. It emphasizes my love of all things clean, simple and… minimalist (as mentioned previously). With design, I’m creating something where I can get a reaction. I like receiving feedback on what I do, so I can do it better next time. Design can make you feel good, (there is the odd occasion where you want to tear your hair out) but the end results can be great. So how did Quadra come about? Well, it was my final major project as part of my degree at Northumbria. Since graduating, it seems to have just expanded across the internet, through blogs etc. The project consisted of creating a name for the gallery (originally The Architect’s Gallery), logo design, stationary, exhibition posters and guides. When developing a solution for the exhibition posters, all designs were influenced by each individual architects style—modern & minimalist.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

As mentioned in a previous answer there isn’t really anyone in particular.

Visit Donna’s website, and have a look at her blog Graphitas. Tweet her: @DonnaWearmouth.

Leave a Reply

