Mat Gartside

Hello, Mat Garside! When not studying or designing, Mat enjoys mountain biking and running. In fact, he’s even running a Bath half-marathon (around 13 miles) this year. ‘I thought it would be a good idea,’ says Mat. ‘I should probably start training though – it’s less than a month away now…’

He’s a self-confessed technology nerd, but ‘there’s no shame in that, right?’ (riiight). He owns lots of Apple products (‘yeah, I’m one of those‘ he says), and we imagine an iPod comes in handy when he’s listening to his favourite electronic music. His dream is to one day built a Modernist house. Read on to find out more…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a 21-year-old currently studying FdA Digital Design at Bath Spa University. Hopefully next year I will be moving on to the 3rd year BA Graphic Communication. I was working full-time as a CAD Technician this time 2 years ago, where I probably spent a lot of time reading Design blogs when I should have been doing work. This lead me to go to Uni and study Design full-time. My main interest would have to be in Modernism. Designers like Massimo Vignelli, Josef Muller Brockmann, Paul Rand, and there approach to design and thoughtful design are inspirational. The Vignelli Canon has been a great help through Uni! There’s a certain cleanliness about Modernism which appeals to me. Organisation and structure assist in the way we read and communicate through design. A lack there of in Post-Modernism.

What are your inspirations?

Inspiration for me comes from everywhere. The natural and built environment around us, articles in magazines I read, music I listen to. There are aspects in everything which trigger some sort of thought process or conjure up some kind of image in my head. It’s just remembering to draw them down in the important part. Other Designer’s and Student’s work is a great way to find ideas, some say it’s copying but if you put enough of yourself into it, I think it’s fine. Also, the way people approach work and other peoples work. In particular, I admire David Carson’s ability to find irony and humour in his own work, even though I don’t like his designs.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I don’t really have a favourite piece as such. I see all my work in my portfolio as favourite pieces otherwise they wouldn’t be there. If I have to choose one, it would be a branding project I just completed for Devon Museums. It was part of a competition which I won with my design and it will be the first piece of work I have that’s being used in public. Against everything I just said, it’s not in my portfolio yet as it hasn’t been unveiled so to speak, but it’s on my blog.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Massimo Vignelli or Josef Muller Brockmann. These two designers, for me, sum up the whole idea behind Modernism. I checked out a studio called Experimental Jetset recently and am loving their work at the moment.

Visit Mat’s website and blog. Have a look at more of his work on Flickr, and Tweet him: @MatGartside.

All images © Mat Garside. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

