Roz Sanderson

This is Roz Sanderson, a 21-year-old creative writer from ‘cobbly Canterbury’. She currently lives in London but dreams of living in the countryside and having a massive vegetable garden.

Roz enjoys cooking (‘anything from chillis to cupcakes’), playing music (she’s currently learning to play the ukelele…), as well as the odd spot of bellydancing and reading. Oh, and writing, of course!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’ve just graduated from the University of Kent. I was quite scared about returning to London to find a job, but moving back in with the parents hasn’t been so bad (with all the free food) and I’m currently working my way through internships until I can find a creative (and paying) job. When I’m not scouring Gorkana for new jobs I write self-proclaimed hilarious articles for my blog and I’m trying to complete my first novel Pipe Dreams which I began in my final year at uni. I’m a volunteer staff member for a children’s charity called Forest School Camps, it’s a two week summer program that takes urban children out of the city and encourages them to live and work alongside nature. I spent a lot of my summer working on organic farms in Ireland and I hope at some point to be entirely self-sufficient.

What are your inspirations?

Inspirations… My really not that interesting life is the main inspiration for my blog. The wide variety of people that I see on trains, walks I go on, things people say and do. My novel as well is essentially about the mundane nature of life. Having read this all through it sounds extremely boring, but if I’m allowed to toot my own trumpet, most things I write have an underlying element of humour. The favourite bits of my days are looking at the extraordinary within the ordinary and filling in the back stories of people I see in the street.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Probably what I’ve written of my novel so far, I’m five chapters in so far, only another 25 to go!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite author is David Mitchell (not the comedian), I found out after I started at university that he was a graduate some years before. His novels are multilayered, exploring broad ideas of reincarnation. My writing is nothing like his but I really admire it.

Read Roz’s blog Pipe Dreams and follow her: @RozSanderson (she’s a bit of a newbie, so would appreciate some followers!)

Leave a Reply

