Ryan Killeen

This is graphic designer Ryan Killeen, who graduated in 2009 and then went on to do a nine month internship with design company Fluid. He’s always looking for exciting new clients, and is equally keen to collaborate with other like-minded people.

Ryan currently works from home, and claims that there are two essential items that he always needs: ‘Red Bull and Kettle crisps. They’re a must!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…
Born & currently live in Birmingham, on a busy and bustling council estate. I work from home. I am a bit of a social fiend whether that be online or out in the pubs of Brum. I love talking to other creative peoples because all my mates are builders or office workers, no offence to those people but sometimes they don’t understand me let alone what I do so follow me on Twitter (shameless plug).

What are your inspirations?

I am inspired by things outside of design. Street signs. Road markings. I love emotive photography that makes you feel nostalgic. Walks in the woods. Skies that tell you it’s going to be sunny tomorrow. Tron. The XX. The Streets. Icons. Symbols. I could go on all day.

What’s your favorite piece of work you produced?
Easy, a DVD cover for the band Athlete. It was the packaging for a documentary to accompany one of their single releases, Black Swan Song. Always loved the band, Joel the lead singer took the time out to email me and thanked me personally its those little things that make you warm inside and help you feel that you, as a designer are valued.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field – e.g. if you’re a writer, who’s your favourite journalist/author; if you’re an artist, who’s your favourite painter, etc.
I am a big fan of Ian Anderson TDR. He is a pioneer and a true gent. I speak to him occasionally via a very well known social network and he nothing but helpful. His work deeply influenced me in my early days of designing but now I have realized that I need to carve my own path and not be a martyr to the design I adore.

Keep your eyes peeled for Ryan’s website (coming soon) and follow him on Twitter: @RyanKilleen.

All images © Ryan Killeen. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

