Alexandra Rolfe

Meet Alexandra Rolfe, a 22-year-old illustration graduate and a self-confessed potential cat-lady.

When not creating some rather lovely illustrations, Alexandra can be found swimming, eating chocolate and/or watching chick-flicks, with Dirty Dancing being one of her favourites. Her friends have nicknamed her ‘Mumbles’. Pray, tell, Alexandra, how did such a nickname come about? ‘They call me Mumbles because I can start to frantically mumble at times, especially when I start one of my mini-moaning sessions.’ Could you repeat that please? We didn’t quite catch what you said. (We couldn’t resist, sorry!)

Read on to find out what inspires Alexandra’s work.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a freelance illustrator recently graduated from Middlesex Univeristy with a BA (Hons) illustration. I have always loved drawing and thought of myself as being creative but never really thought I could pursue a career in it until when I did my A levels I was opened up to the world of illustration. I illustrate using pen and watercolour and creating intricate illustrations.

What are your inspirations?

Apart from all the everyday inspirations that surrounds us all the time. I am inspired by 1940s, 1950s, and  almost anything vintage, something with a real handmade feel. I love Victoriana and the old Victorian drawings with so much detail. When I was at university I discovered  printmaking particularly etching and the old fashioned way of printing and aspired to these illustrations, the time and effort to create the old drawings is amazing.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece is the cupcakes I did as a greeting card for a friend. It was a fun piece I was inspired to do by the candy strips little sweets bags you get from old sweet shops. I used a mixture of mediums and I spent a long time putting all the detail into the frame.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Sara Fanelli I always found fascinating her style is so different and introduced me to a different way of thinking when creating my illustrations.

Visit Alexandra’s website and Tweet her: @AlexandraRolfe.

All images © Alexandra Rolfe. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

