Charlotte Coxhead

Say hello to Charlotte Coxhead, or, as she’s more commonly known, ‘Poppy’, a childhood nickname which stuck.

Charlotte graduated from Keele University last year with a degree in English & American Literature, which included a four-month stay in Indiana. She can quote Green Wing and Extras at will, and recently did work experience at teen mag Bliss. ‘I contributed to several articles,’ she says, ‘which involved chasing teenage boys round shopping centres to interview them…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m twenty-three, aspiring to be a journalist and (very) slowly getting there (I think), and at the moment, slightly intimidated at all the talent and achievement on this blog! I love to write about music and my life mainly, which is sometimes interesting and usually about how old I feel (about fifty). I would like to move into a city (and have a job too, ideally), but at the moment I am stuck in rural paradise (boring).

What are your inspirations?

Music (isn’t everyone’s!?), my life, art, post-modernism (none of which I am particularly knowledgeable about) and things and people that irritate me. 

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I got a piece about the American Folk singer Diane Cluck published in a local newspaper which I was pretty proud of. And some of my blog posts.         

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have always enjoyed reading Justine Picardie for The Daily Telegraph for her writing style and wit, as well as pretty much everyone in Stella. And Cooper Brown from The Independent. Very amusing.

Have a read of Charlotte’s blog here.

Leave a Reply

