Josh Murr

This is 19-year-old Josh Murr, a keen cyclist who is currently studying Graphic Design and Illustration. Despite this, he spends no money whatsoever on ‘fancy’ pens and pencils, as one might expect – rather, he invests it in clothes and graphic design books. Josh was originally going to follow a somewhat different career path. ‘I have Maths and Physics A-Levels,’ he says, ‘because up until a year ago I had intended to go into engineering. I’m definitely glad I didn’t now though!’

Read on to find out more about Josh and his work, including his intriguingly titled book-in-the-making Hairy Bitches

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently studying Graphic Design and Illustration on my Foundation Year with a view to study a BA in Illustration this coming September. I realised drawing and creating images was my passion a couple years ago now and I’ve really taken it seriously since then… I am now no stranger to the all-nighter.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations at the moment are actually coming more from the graphic design side of things, rather than illustrators. I am still set on becoming an illustrator [of sorts] but I am currently reading graphic design magazines and journals such as ‘Dot Dot Dot’ magazine which is co-edited by Stuart Bailey. I am also interested in the study of Semiology (which isΒ a philosophical theory of the functions of signs and symbols – as put so concisely by Google definitions). I am beginning to bring this in to my own work and try to understand the influence of images, rather than just making pretty pictures.

What is your favourite piece of work?

I am currently in the process of making my favourite piece of work! I think I am any way. It’s a book entitled Hairy Bitches. It comprises of a number of illustrations with a focus on girls, and their hair… Quite simple, but I think it could potentially be a nice book! Some of the illustrations can be found on my blog. I’m hoping to have it done later this year, possibly mid 2011. I am very excited about this as I’ve got some cool ideas for it! I am obsessed with bookmaking and binding at the moment as it is, so I have a number of zines and books in the pipeline.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

This is a tough question! As of the past few 6 months or so, I have really become immersed in the world of graphic design and illustration, and so I am constantly being exposed to new and exciting creatives all the time! I guess right now, one of my favourites has to be James Jean. He has a wonderful ability to use his fantastic drawing and painting abilities to create surreal environments and beautifully complex images. Also, as I am currently into drawing hair, Page Tsou had a recent exhibition called The And in which he displayed a large number of portraits of the backs of peoples heads. Beautiful illustrations and I’m gutted I missed the show.

Read Josh’s blog, have a look at some of his work on Flickr and Tweet him: @JoshMurr.

All images Β© Josh Murr. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Josh Murr”

Leave a Reply

