Bruce Parker

We have to be honest: when we first heard Bruce Parker‘s name, we thought it was the alter-ego of the Incredible Hulk. A quick Google revealed that we were getting all our comic books mixed up; Bruce Banner is the Hulk, and Peter Parker is Spiderman. Stupid TYC. Doh.

Anyway, back to Bruce, a.k.a. Brucey, whose artistic monochrome style comes from his love of Newcastle United. He loves the American culture, and aims to live there one day, and also is a big fan of all things vintage including, music, films and brands. And he also loves Subway sandwiches – well, don’t we all?

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m Bruce Parker aka Brucey, I have a degree in Creative Practice from Newcastle College for which I focused on Animation and Illustration. In my final year I spent a lot of time experimenting looking for my own style. After graduating I began to push my monochrome composition work, which I have been developing to create a style that is unique and recognizable as my own. I create almost all of my using paint markers and I often like to work on obscure surfaces such as cars, fridges, drawers, windows and other recycled objects. As well as art I am also interested in other creative disciplines such as animation, sculpture and fashion. I am currently building my portfolio and I am hoping to be appearing in lots of exhibitions in the near future.

What are your inspirations?

I’m heavily influenced by pop culture, and a lot of my current character designs make reference to classic and cult films. The background imagery in my work is often inspired by my everyday life and objects around me, such as brands, food, text etc. Unless I have been asked to follow a specific theme.

The artwork of Attaboy, Joe Ledbetter and Jimi Crayon had a huge impact on my work during college and they each had a hand in helping to develop my current style.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favourite piece of work is Cold Chillin’ which was a fridge/freezer that I customized with my own stlye of illustration. Although I have worked on a variety of quirky surfaces the fridge has been my favourite as it was when I felt that I had really began to refine my technique.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I admire a wide range of artists especially American artists, such Gary Baseman, Lola Gil, David Chung, Brandi Milne and Natalia Fabia. Currently I would have to say Greg “Craola” Simkins is my favourite as although we have very different styles and use very different techniques, the ideas behind our work are often similar.

Visit Bruce’s website Brucey Art and Tweet him: @BruceyArt.

All images © Bruce Parker. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

