Laura Reynolds

This lovely lady is Laura Reynolds,who laughs way too much, mainly at her own stories which tend to end with her saying ‘…but you had to be there’ when no-one can quite work out why she’s still laughing.

Laura is also known as ‘small’; ‘one of my closest friends is also called Laura, and she’s about a foot taller than me,’ explains Laura. ‘Hence we are known as ‘tall’ and ‘small’.

Small Laura loves cupcakes, and the evening before her birthday she and her friend spent hours making and icing 102 – 102! – of them. She also is slightly obssessed with buttons, Disney films, making her own jewellery and sewing. Laura’s dreams? ‘I want to be fluent in Spanish one day,’ she says. ‘When – not if! – I win the lottery, I’ll visit every state in America in a Camper van, selling handmade jewellery. I’ll then return home to Kent and buy a nice big house in the countryside.’ We look forward to our fraction of her winnings…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am in my second year of an English language course at the University of York, and I’m finding it really interesting learning about the social side of the way people speak. My ultimate aim is to be a travel writer, however at the moment dwindling student funds are preventing me from travelling further than the next town, so in the mean time I am occupying myself with my two blogs, which I update as regularly as possible (but not as often as I probably should!), and writing for an online student magazine.  One day I would like to try more creative writing, perhaps short stories or screenwriting.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work is probably a piece I did about Portsmouth, as it is something that I really enjoyed writing. I originally wrote it for my blog but submitted it for the travel section of “The Yorker” and it got published.

What are your inspirations?

I got into blogging after reading Petite Anglaise by Catherine Sanderson, a true story of the following behind one woman’s blog, which made me realise how powerful blogging could be, so I guess you could say this is my inspiration. My blog mainly consists of thoughts that occur to me in everyday life-I like watching the world go by, and get most of my thoughts from that.

Who are your favourite ‘creatives’ in your chosen field?

My favourite authors are Joanne Harris and Michelle Magorian.

Read Laura’s blogs here and here, and look at her work for The Yorker. Also Tweet her – she’s a bit new to Twitter, so follow her: @Scribbling_Lau.

3 thoughts on “Laura Reynolds”

Leave a Reply

