Liam Nicholson

Meet 22-year-old Liam Nicholson. He is a big fan of rock music, and when not listening to Bruce Springsteen, Rage Against the Machine, etc., he can be found playing his guitar (he’s been playing bass for 8 years).

Liam also loves photography, and cites he dad as a huge inspiration. He is also Apple to the core (excuse the pun…) and claims that ‘once you go Mac you never go back!’ He also applied for – and was accepted on to – a Car Design degree at the same uni where he studied games design. ‘It took a while to choose between them,’ Liam says. ‘Eventually I realised I could design cars for games. Two birds, one stone.’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a Computer Games Design graduate, currently training myself to be a concept artist for the digital media industry In most of my free time, I work as Lead Artist and Designer for an independent studio myself and two friends started in 2010 (blue demon studio). We’re currently developing our first game together, hoping to release it sometime this year. Until I can get a real career going, I work at Waterstone’s bookstore in Sheffield city centre, which I absolutely love!

What are your inspirations?

My biggest inspiration in anything I do is Star Wars – it has to be admitted up-front – and I guess more broadly, the science fiction genre. Science fiction is about cultures, human nature, political ideals, the betterment of humankind, our collective faults as a race, our differences and successes. It’s a genre which often pushed the boundaries of thought, Arthur C. Clarke being one prime example. Other than that, anything which has been thought of and or created with bundles of passion will inspire me, I simply can’t stand anything which lacks passion.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I have to say a piece I created for my final GCSE Art exam, but I’ve no idea where it’s gone… probably in a folder in the attic. Anyway, it was an A1 pastel drawing of Tutankhamun’s famous mask. It helped me gain an A* overall and it’s one of the most enjoyable pieces of art I’ve created. As I can’t find it to show you, I was really happy with this A1 oil on canvas painting I did in college, which gained me second prize in an inter-school competition.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Doug Chiang, he’s an artist and designer most famous for his work on Star Wars Episodes 1 and 2, and Terminator 2. His work is incredibly beautiful, delicate, intricately detailed and executed with such grace and finesse. He’s also written a wonderfully informative art and design tutorial book which has inspired me so much recently, a must read for aspiring sci-fi designers.

Read Liam’s blog here and see more of his work on his website. Browse his Tumblr and Tweet him: @LiamNicholson88.

All images Β© Liam Nicholson. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Liam Nicholson”

  1. hay liam,
    my boyfriend is a hugggeee fan of claudio! any chance of you selling that picture you drew? he has a few hand drawn pictures on his wall such as bob marly, jimi hendrix and others and i know he would love to add that to his collection! looking forward to hearing back:)

Leave a Reply

