Alana Marmion-Warr

Meet Alana Marmion-Warr, currently making her way in the world of journalism. A Politics’ graduate from the University of Sussex, Alana writes, writes and writes some more.

Alana also enjoys watching films, reading, spending time with friends: ‘all the normal stuff really’. She also boasts an enviably huge collection of magazines that she has never thrown away, including old issues of Vanity Fair, Vogue i-D, Elle and Glamour. ‘I’m a bit of an addict!’ she says.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a 22-year-old born and bred in London – and I’m still living there now! I am an aspiring journalist who is currently in the process of trying to find a job in this horrible climate. I currently contribute to Dazed Digital and i-D online. Interviewing and Features writing are my main interests, but I also enjoy reviewing.

What are your inspirations?

It completely varies – it can be something I read, watch or see… anything really that prompts a feeling in me. I am also inspired by the people around me who get on with life regardless of the setbacks they face. My family are pretty great too!

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think it’s too early on in the game to answer this one!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I like those who are able to use humour to say something else  – I think Tim Dowling is pretty good at this. I’m also fond of Nick Davis – he does these amazing investigative pieces – as he is someone I look up to and whose career I would love to follow in the footsteps of one day!

To see examples of her work, visit Alana’s website, and follow her on Twitter: @alanagmw.

 

Leave a Reply

