Emma Holton

This is Emma Holton, an illustrator/graphic designer currently residing in sunny (or so we would like to think!) Swansea.

Emma is addicted to chocolate and tea, and loves the sea. She also listens to folk music…as well as the occasional tune from the 80s. Hmm…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My name is Emma Holton and I’m an illustrator/graphic designer. I graduated from my degree in 2009, which was in BA Hons Graphic Communications, at UWIC. I’m originally from Hereford, however I’m now living in Swansea where I’m currently working part-time whilst trying to find some graduate work.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations at the moment are mainly patterns and flowers. I have always been into flowers, as I love their colour, shape and how they can brighten up any room or garden. I enjoy drawing them and trying to put them into patterns. I have been currently designing a lot of greetings cards. I have been creating some patterns for these as well . Also people around me inspire me. Other illustrators and blogs that are around. I also get a lot of inspiration off the high street.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Very hard to say. I one of those people who never really likes her work. Um I have it’s a piece I did for a birthday card. It is a cupcake pattern. I like it mainly because it is colourful and fun.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have many people that I admire. I really love the work of illustrator Johanna Basford. Her designs are so beautiful. I love the way she uses nature as well and pattern to create her work.

Read Emma’s blog Pastel Girl and Tweet her: @EmmaHolton.

All images © Emma Holton. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Emma Holton”

Leave a Reply

