Jared Thompson

This is 22-year-old Jared Thompson, a Product Design graduate from the North West of England.

Jared enjoys watching many sports, and has a particular interest in all-things American. ‘I’ve recently developed a love for ice hockey,’ he says. ‘I think this comes from spending extended periods of time in Canada in recent years.’ One of Jared’s long-term ambitions is to move to North America – more specifically to British Columbia or Vancouver. ‘It’s such an inspirational and vibrant place that I would really love to work and live in that environment in the future.’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I have a keen interest in blogging about all things design and industrial design. I own and run my own online design blog also writing on a freelance for several other sites across the web. I also had a hand in Nenuno Creative as well as now being running the t-shirt blog The Tee Gazette.

Social media has become a big part of my life as well as being a writer and blogger, but I think that my first love will always be within product/industrial design. I want to be a designer that changes the routines and efficiency of our everyday lives, we should be looking to protect the earth’s resources through improved manufacturing and material selection. But also to solve the problems that we all face on a daily basis, whether it’s in the third world or change the way we work in an industrial world.

What are your inspirations?

I would also look to he minimalist design era for my inspiration, during my education I was extremly inspired by the works of the Bauhaus design movement. Through the designer Dieter Rams especially, I loved his work with Braun and his famous ten principles of Design. In the modern era I take a lot of inspiration from industrial designers such as Jonathan Ive (Head designer at Apple) Naoto Fukasawa and Ross Lovegrove.
For more graphical design inspiration I often found myself attracted to the works of Daniel Eatock and Alberto Seveso.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think I’ve still a lot to learn and achieve within design, in the future I’d love to work more on my personal ‘typography chair’ project. It was an idea I developed on my own a few years ago during my studies. I would love to extend the project to produce a series of furniture designs, the idea being they would be an interactive learning aide for toddlers and young children in their education.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I think my favourite designer would probably be Jonathan Ive, the way his designs have changed the fortunes of Apple is amazing. He has headed a team of designers who create products all of us rush out and purchase, he has also no worked to be detrimental to the environment in the way their products are manufactured. He has worked to make their manufacturing and materials as economical and environmentally friendly as possible.

Have a look at Jared’s blog Design Juices (@DesignJuices) and also check out his portfolio. Tweet Jared himself @JThompsonDesign.

All images © Jared Thompson. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

