Jordan Waller

This rather dapper chap is 22-year-old freelance journalist Jordan Waller. He has lots of grey hairs, and will probably be fully grey by the time he is 30 (yippee!). ‘I recently found a stray grey hair in my beard. In my beard!!!’ He also says that he was born with a beard…well, ‘probably.’

So describe yourself in 20 words or less, Jordan. ‘I’ve been told I’m a nerd stuck in the body of a skinny French man, despite the fact that I’m not actually French.’ This red-wine-drinking Metallica-lover used to be quite a good magician (‘not so much anymore’), and claims that his favourite member of boyband Blue is Anthony Costa. Why? ‘Simply because he’s so rubbish, but still gives it his best shot. I once tried to start a charity fund for him because I was worried he wasn’t getting much work.’ Jordan is also in the priveleged position of probably being one of a handful of people whom broadcaster Jon Snow has grabbed by the shoulder and said ‘are we alright, baby?’ to…

Are you as intrigued as we are? Do read on…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated last year from Northumbria University with a 1st Class BA Honours in Journalism. Since then I’ve been busy trying to build up my portfolio and whore myself around as a freelance writer. I did quite a bit of interning during my degree and have written for some lovely people like Esquire, FHM, Empire, NME and the BBC.

I collect vinyl records and embarrassing moments, most of which I write about (among other things) in my blog. Ultimately I’d like to pursue a career in male lifestyle or music journalism. Recently I became the music editor for Agent2 magazine which is wonderful as it means that I get to write about something that I’m passionate about on a regular basis and hopefully for people that like what I write.

What are your inspirations?

I get inspired by quite a lot of things from other writers to films, photos and comedians. I like to think of myself as a little sponge. I do like a good magazine though, Esquire, Fortean Times and old issues of JACK are great if you can find them.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Just recently I did a five page feature on Britain’s Best Burgers for Esquire’s February issue which I’m quite proud of – you’d be surprised about how interesting the common meat patty is… Although I shouldn’t say it, I also get a quiet swell of satisfaction writing about my own embarrassing and awkward moments. It’s nice to know that people find them funny or empathise.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

People that I’m enjoying reading a lot at the moment are Jay Rayner, Rachel Cooke, Richard Bacon’s Esquire column and Danny Wallace. Then there are the obvious classics like Hunter S. Thompson, Kerouac, Orwell, Wilde and other such ragamuffins. I’m a bit of a secret James Brown fanboy too. Also, Dan Davies and the Esquire team who have all been great and given me tons of encouragment and help over the last 9 months or so.

Browse Jordan’s blog here and Tweet him for a grey-hair update: @JordanWaller.

One thought on “Jordan Waller”

Leave a Reply

