Emmeline Pidgen

Meet Emmeline Pidgen, a 22-year-old freelance illustrator. Every artist worth their pinch of salt (or an arty equivalent…the closest we could come up with was charcoal dust) has their price, and Emmeline is no different. ‘I like to receive digital or physical coins in return for snippets of my imagination which have been put on paper,’ she says.

And what do you spend your coins on, Emmeline? ‘Cereal, flowers or Jackie Chan films…’ Looks rather like our shopping list, too.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Hello! I’m Emmeline, born in Oxford, raised in Somerset, long-time resident of Cornwall and current resident of Leyland. I graduated from the BA(Hons) Illustration course at University College Falmouth in 2010 and since then I’ve been trying to make my way in the world of freelance illustration. My work centers around the use of colour, shape, character and generally making people feel lovely.

What are your inspirations?

I find inspiration in the little everyday things, even if I don’t realise they’re inspiring me. My head gets filled up with these collections of inspiring events and images, my brain processes them, rearranges them, combines them, and they somehow end up as a illustrated mush on the paper. A natural, never-ending process.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I definitely don’t have one particular favourite piece of work that I’ve done, although I usually tend to like my most recent work the best. It’s really easy for me to know which pieces I don’t like though!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Again, very hard to choose – apparantly I’m not one for picking favourites! I adore the work of Andrew Hem, Dominique Goblet and Hayao Miyazaki (and all the ace concept artists at Ghibli).

Have a browse of Emmeline’s work: visit her website Emmeline Illustration; visit her blogs here and here; and Tweet her: @EmmelineDraws.

All images © Emmeline Pidgen. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

4 thoughts on “Emmeline Pidgen”

Leave a Reply

