Rebecca Cooke

Say a big TYC hello to Rebecca Cooke, a graduate currently residing in Bristol. Rebecca grew up in the Devon countryside, which is probably where her appreciation for nature and animals comes from. ‘I still find city living a bit strange, even after five years of it!’

Rebecca loves music: ‘I’m as likely to be at the front of a sweaty rock gig as dancing to dubstep’, she says, and she loves everything from Subfocus to Sublime and back again. She is also rather fond of illustration, magazines, jewellery and flowers. And cats: ‘especially my kitten!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated in 2009 from UWIC in Cardiff. My next goal is to write and illustrate the childrens’ book, which has been in the planning stages for too long! I am currently redesigning the layout of a magazine for it’s 10th anniversary edition – the most design I’ve done since leaving uni! I am also working on some illustrations and designs which will be in an Eco magazine this spring. I have a lot of books. The bigger and more colourful the better, I can’t go in a bookshop without coming out with something new. I worked as a archivist for 6 months working with really old and sometimes handwritten books which was a lovely job!

What inspires you?

My personal work is often inspired by music and nature, I like images which flow and have an slightly organic nature to them. I usually start off in pencil and progress into the digital realm due to my being surgically attached to my computer. I am really inspired by pattern and love creating my own. there seem to be endless possibilities for each one, from the design to what they can be applied to.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Currently is probably my ‘Day of the Dead’ pattern. It was really the first piece of personal work that I did since leaving education, the sugar skull pencil illustration flowed really naturally for me and creating a pattern from it brings some femininity to the design.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

It has to be James Jean because his work is so beautiful, and is very varied but often focuses on flowers and the human figure. I particularly like his cover illustrations for ‘Fables’. There are so many others that I love so I like to blog about them.

Look through Becky’s portfolio here, read her blog and Tweet her: @BexxDestroy.

All images © Rebecca Cooke. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

2 thoughts on “Rebecca Cooke”

Leave a Reply

