John Troxel

This is John Troxel, magazine editor, photographer, blogger…the list is endless.

John can often be found among piles of clothes – ‘whether it’s the Salvation Army, the designer collections at Saks Fifth Avenue or my home studio, I love it all!’ he says. He likes pasta, running, rocks and minerals, Dr. Peppers (large) from McDonalds, old sunglasses, expired films, safety pins and one of our favourites, The Great Gatsby.

Read on to find out more about John’s magazine, INK, and find out what inspires him.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m 17 years old and editor-in-chief of INK Magazine (a monthly fashion/photography/music magazine) and a fashion & portrait photographer in Chicago, IL. I’m originally from the east coast (born in New Jersey, raised in Philly) and love still constantly travelling back & forth. I plan to go on to school in NYC after I graduate high school and study Fashion Design and Art History.

What are your inspirations?

I think that everything around me is “inspiring me”…but I just like to think of it all as influence. I’m young in the industry (& the whole world) and still finding my niche and style, but I love looking through the works of the older masters who shot with all film.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think the set of images I did of the Joffrey Ballet here in Chicago. I had about an hour with three of their dancers, and I feel like it shows a lot of my strengths.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Well, for fashion design Alexander Wang, Michael Kors, and Calvin Klein are three houses I really adore. I think that Bruce Weber (sans erotic) really does lighting right, and I love Annie Leibovitz’s fashion photography work. Anna Wintour has some serious swagger…I guess she’s an editor “fav”!

Visit the website of INK magazine; look at John’s blog and his website, plus check out some of his photography here. Tweet him: @John_Troxel.

One thought on “John Troxel”

  1. Surfing the waves of the web I am pleasantly stranded in this beautiful blog.

    I write under the pseudonym of Josè Pascal (a descendant of the great Colonel Aureliano Buendía).

    I invite you to visit my italian writing blog http://parolesemplici.wordpress.com/mytinbox/. I define this blog “In parole Semplici” as a “virtuacultural tin” box where they are guarded thoughts, memories, images, sounds, and simple stories. ”

    If you want to participate and to have more informations send me a letter to inparolesempli@gmail.com

    Good life and I hope to soon
    Josè

Leave a Reply

