Emma Jardine

This is Emma Jardine, ‘a big blue-eyed fairy’ (or so we hear). Emma is well known for her tea-making skills: ‘my secret is, always put the milk in first! I know it sounds crazy, but it’s the perfect way to make a cuppa, and I’ve had no complaints so far.’

Emma is a big kid at heart, and is nicknamed ‘Inks’ for being small and petite. One day she dreams of having her own business: ‘I’d illustrate all sorts of cards – birthday, Valentines, Easter…the list is endless!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a 22-year-old freelance illustrator from north London. I graduated last year at Middlesex University in BA Honours Illustration. Since then, I have been building up my portfolio with new and exciting projects which I have either done for myself, family and friends or for clients. I have done commissions for Fresh As A Daisy cards and my work is up and selling in Quays art shop based in the Channel islands. I work part-time in a local chemist which allows me to work creatively in my free time.

What are your inspirations?

Inspiration, for me, can come from anything and everything. All senses can aspire me to create something different. Things such as Grimm’s Fairy Tales, Aesop Fables and Hans Christian Andersen Fairy tales, where things are ‘make-believe’, inspire me lots. Dreams and fantasies also intrigue me to draw.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

That’s quite difficult because all of my pieces I have created, I tend to like them in different ways for different reasons. To pick one, my favourite would have to be an illustration I did for a children’s book brief in my final year. I think I love it more so as I based the animal characters on my dog Chester and my sister’s cats Minnie and Holly.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

John Vernon Lord has got to be my favourite. I was inspired by him throughout my final year and still am now.

Read Emma’s blog and visit her website; and Tweet her: @Emeh1.

All images © Emma Jardine. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

