Rui Ribeiro

Say a big hello to Rui Rubeiro, an artist who uses only one pen to both draw and write (a Pilot G-Tech C4), and who has a fixation with other people’s hair (‘but not mine!’ he says. ‘Mine’s a mess!’) He hates birthdays, and he eats bread as if there is no tomorrow. In fact, ‘I suffer from withdrawal if I don’t have it at least once a day’.

What else? ‘I’m just really odd,’ Rui admits. ‘I’ve been trying to convince my housemates that I’m married to Lady Gagy, but they sti!ll don’t believe me’. Well, we suppose Rui was just Born This Way!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Okay, about me… I’m Rui Ribeiro (try to pronounce it out loud), I’m 22 and I’m from a small town near Lisbon –Portugal whose name is even harder to pronounce than my own name (it’s called Torres Vedras ). I never really drew much even though I enjoyed it whenever I did it, mostly doodles though. Every so often a spur of creativity would strike but they were quite rare unfortunately, and because I didn’t really have a drawing style I would get easily frustrated and give up… Until I came to the UK to finish my degree in Graphic Communication and literally until I actually made an effort.

What inspires you?

Because I still feel quite new in the Illustration area sometimes it’s difficult to say: this is what definitely inspires me. Having said that I usually find my inspiration in music, most of my work derives exactly from the mood it suggests and from the narrative/lyrics it proposes. Also, something that really makes me want to draw more and better is technical and classical drawing, I absolutely love sculpture and the sketches created before its conception almost make me drool of awesomeness (British Museum and V&A are therefore my favourite museums of all time). Also Architecture, Magritte and portraiture photography have a strong impact on my work.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Every work I produce that takes a large amount of time and a lot of detail tends to be my personal favourite…but for a very short period of time. That feeling of accomplishment tends to wear off quite rapidly and I need to start something else or take a break from drawing in order to reevaluate what I want to do next.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

David Bray: no one else. I want to be his friend one day.

Browse Rui’s work on his website and find Tweet him to find out more about his marriage to Lady G: @SharkSimple.

All images © Rui Ribeiro. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

