Benjamin Carr

This is Benjamin Carr, pretending to be a zebra (well, we’ve all done it…)

When not illustrating (or acting like a zebra), Ben has lots of hobbies: visiting his girlfriend at her uni (‘does that count as a hobby?’ he asks), photography, collecting books (art/old/comic), and watching films – particularly those of Alfred Hitchcock, Guilemerro Del Toro and Tarrentino. He also enjoys ‘a good kayak trip. And a bit of tennis in the summer. I miss the summer!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…
My name’s Benjamin Carr, and I’m doing Illustration & Animation at Kingston University. My aim for after my BA is to perhaps go and do a MA in printmaking or communication design at the Royal College of Art.

My work is a mix of highly detailed illustrations with a heavy use of pattern & texture and a refined graphic style, which I try and fuse together to make a successful illustration. I’m currently working on a lot of print and sequential illustration.

What are your inspirations?

I love flea markets, old books, especially old children’s books and Darwin’s beautiful books! I also draw a lot of inspiration from comics, and Bauhaus design!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I have a number of pieces that I’m really chuffed with but I think my favourite piece is a really intricate little book illustration for the House of Illustration & Folio Society 2011 competition. It took me ages but I’m so proud of it!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have a number of favourite illustrators: I love the work of Maxwell Loren Holyoke-Hirsch, I love Ray Johnson’s truly original collages, and Bristol-based illustrator Ben Newman for his brilliantly symbolic and refined illustration style. Nick White is a big inspiration as he’s a Kingston graduate, and I couldn’t possibly forget to mention the wonderful grass roots work of Monica Canilao.

Visit Ben’s website here, and look at his blog. Tweet him: @BenjaminCarrUK.

All images © Benjamin Carr. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

