Alix Adams

This is Alix Adams. Last year she started studying A-levels in English Language, Media Studies and Art, which help to indulge her passions for art and photography. ‘So far everything I know about photography I have taught myself,’ she explains. ‘But I’m hoping my course will teach me much more.’

‘I can’t go a day without listening to music,’ Alix says. ‘It’s great to listen to when I’m painting, too!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My name is Alix Adams and I’m a 17-year-old with a huge passion for photography and art. I live in the beautiful garden of England aka Kent. Photography has always been a passion of mine. I have just started an NCFE Level 1 Photography course so I can learn how my camera works and learn more about photography in general. I love colour photography, especially in landscapes. I enjoy visiting art museum’s because its inspiring to see different varieties of art and learning how people have lived their lives. I love oil painting and pencil drawing especially if I have a good photograph to use as inspiration. I greatly enjoy watching good films and learning about how images are edited together and different effects used to to create a certain mood. I find this fascinating. I’d love to perhaps get involved in the media industry one day.

What are your inspirations…

Thinking about it, everything around me is a huge inspiration, especially nature. I love how natural things can change dramatically, yet always seem to produce a beautiful image. Films are hugely inspiring, the composition in the images and the creative editing along with a good plot can change your view on certain situations in life making you inspired in a completely different way. I would love to go traveling and take photographs of everything, and capture so many memories.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I don’t think I have a particular favourite piece of work, the majority of images I have taken appeal to me in different ways. If I had to pick a favourite photograph I would pick my sunset image as I was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time and the colours in the image are so vibrant and appealing to the eye.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are so many photographers who produce work I truly admire. I love Ansel Adams’ landscape photography, Bill Brant is another of my favourites. I would say my all time favourite photographer is Tom Leishman. He is a true inspiration as he built his photography career from scratch, teaching himself all he needed to know and is now living his dream and taking beautiful photographs. Art-wise,I love Leonardo Da Vinci’s sketches and Van Gogh’s portrait paintings.

See more of Alix’s work by clicking here, and Tweet her: @pixielixa.

All images © Alix Adams. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

