Oliver Long

Meet 18-year-old Essex boy Ollie Long, who is currently studying a foundation course in graphic design.

Ollie is in a hardcore band called Enforcer, and is ‘straight edge’. ‘People should definitely look it up,’ he says.

He didn’t get on terribly with some of his subjects at school, and likes watching films. His dream is to run his own design studio, and read on more to find out about how he’s going to get there…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an 18-year-old from north Essex and I am currently doing a foundation year in Graphic Design. I have only discovered design within the last 6 months but it has already made me a much more ambitious and dedicated student. I am currently enduring the whole uni process which is making me a bit anxious and stressed but hopefully my hard work will have paid off so I can spend the next three years studying somewhere cool.

What are your inspirations?

I’m a beginner so I’m still looking at alot of designers, I try to mix some similar aesthetics that I see with stuff that I think generally looks cool. I try and look at as much stuff as I can, like films, architecture, photography and books and then I enevitabally stroll across something intresting. I guess becoming inspired is a personal thing but I believe that culture itself is the best way to get your brain working.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I feel that I am constantly improving and understanding design more as time goes on, so my latest work would probably be my favourite. Night magazine is a collaboration project that I do with an close friend of mine. He is an amazing illustrator; check out Josh Murr [TYC note: we already have! Click on the link to see Josh’s TYC feature]. Anyway, we collaborated for the first issue and it went really well so we decided to make it a reoccuring thing. The concept behind Night magazine is that it is all designed and produced in one night/over night (as in we don’t sleep). It was initially an experiment of our own productivity but it turned out to be really rewarding. There are images showing The front cover of the second issue as well as quick poster design that I recently finished. We plan on eventually producing a small batch to sell online/to mates, so follow Night on tumblr and keep in touch! The other image is a simple self initiated typography task. I wanted to create a cool typeface, so I did haha.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?
I respect the likes of Josef Muller-Brockmann, Armin Hoffmann, Wim Crouwel and others alike, these designers leave me thinking ‘that could be done now and it wouldn’t look out of place, even though it was done around 40 years ago’. As for more current stuff I am into studios such as Experimental Jetset, Spin, Build, Studio Beige, Toko, Bibliotheque Design, This is Collate and Birch. They are all killing it at the moment. That is where I wanna be in ten years time; running a sick design studio.

Have a look at Ollie’s tumblr; also Tweet him: @OllieLongxxx.

All images © Oliver Long. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

