Ash Hover

This lovely chap is Ash Hover, a journo-in-the-making from Kent. He writes mainly about sport, but ‘music has often inspired me to create artistic work, and I’m extremely proud of the teaser trailer I just created for A2 Media Studies!’

Ash is a bit of a sports buff, and when not playing football is supporting Tottenham Hotsput. He also likes the odd bit of golf. One final thing you should know about him: ‘I have weird eyes. My right eye is sky blue, whereas my left eye is blue and chestnut brown. I love it!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an aspiring journalist currently studying A Levels in Tonbridge, Kent. I freelance for my local paper and also work on the school magazine. Writing is something that is really important to me as it gives everyone an outlet and somewhere to have their opinions heard.

If you want to know more about me or just have a chat, follow me on Twitter or check out my blog or FB page!

What inspires you?

I’m a bit of a strange one, so my inspirations are different from what a lot of other writers are inspired by. For example: Soccer Am showboat; YouTube videos; my friends. I also take inspiration from the cheesy, yet brilliant Adidas slogan, ‘impossible is nothing’.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

The piece of work that I am most proud of is my article on the Sevenoaks-Tunbridge Wells derby match which made the back page. For a sports writer, being on the back page is like being handed the Holy Grail. Unforgettable.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I don’t really have one single person whose work I admire the most. I am very fond of football broadcaster and legendary Sky Sports anchor, Jeff Stelling but even more so, I am extremely inspired by Wikileaks and Ory Okolloh, who is a Kenyan activist and blogger. She founded a site called Mzalendo which translates into ‘patriot’ in Swahili, and the site gave the citizens of Kenya what they should rightfully have: freedom of speech.

Visit Ash’s website here, and follow him on Twitter: @AshHover.

One thought on “Ash Hover”

Leave a Reply

