Katie Byrne

Well, this is me, Katie Byrne. After much ooh-ing and ahh-ing, and pacing up and down as I pondered whether this was far too egotistical, etc. etc., I have decided that I will put this up so that, if nothing else, you can at least find out who you have been dealing with!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a third-year university student studying English Literature, which means lots of reading (and, obviously but unfortunately, lots of essays). Once I graduate, my goal is to either marry Zac Efron or, failing that, work in journalism.

I’ve spent the last couple of years getting as much experience as possible (I’ve always kind of assumed my plan to become Katie Efron wouldn’t quite work), and have had a lot of fun finding out about the industry. I currently intern, and am always on the prowl for more bits to add to the all important C.V. I’m also Features’ Ed of my uni newspaper. I write for lots of on-line bits: Running In Heels, Cellar Door, Wannabe Hacks and I also write various other bits and pieces. I should probably set up some kind of online portfolio, but for the minute I am more than happy with my tatty old cuttings book!

When I’m not writing, writing or writing, I’m either at work (a supermarket – glam, I kn0w), walking my dog, relaxing with my long-suffering boyfriend or obssessing over some totally inappropriate American star (I’m talking about you, J Biebz).

I set up T.Y.C. as I follow a lot of insanely talented people on Twitter – artists, writers, musicians, etc. It suddenly dawned on me one night to set up a site that scoops them all up and puts them in one place, where they can both find and be found (which sounds rather sinister, but hopefully you catch my drift…) I thought it would be a great way for, say, artists to discover and get to know other artists that they may not have found otherwise, and it also acts as a kind of catalogue for agents, websites etc. looking for specific talents.

What inspires you?

I am inspired by everything: I’m always getting crazy ideas, and my brain is literally always on the go, bouncing from one whacky plan to another. I have a huge list of things that I want to do before I die, and get great satisfaction everytime I cross something off. I love all things sentimental: old books, old films and old photographs.  (I only realise now exactly how difficult this question is to answer, so sorry if you’ve endured it before me!)

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

It can’t be found on the Internet, and only myself a handful of other people know of its existence…but despite this, I would say that my favourite piece of work I have created would have to be my award-winning (well, maybe not) book, Willoughby Creek, which I wrote ardently during Maths’ lessons at school when aged between 13-14. I paid for it to be published – J.K. Rowling, eat your heart out – and there are only three copies of it in the world. The fact that all three are scattered around my house, in various strains of distress (my dog took a particular shine to one of the copies when teething…) is beside the point: now, at the age of 20, I can look back and feel very proud that I endured and wrote 90,000 words, even if they are the 90,000 most drivelly words known to man.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

I have several: there are lots of journalists who I admire (the Corens, Celia Walden, Rachel Johnson, Caitlin Moran, Liz Jones); I also love the novels of D. H. Lawrence. The great thing about my degree is that I am always discovering incredible new writers – both old and contemporary – and so my list of favourites varies from week to week. But my all-time favourites are Lawrence, Faulkner, Mitford (s – loved the book of their letters) and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Visit my website and Tweet me: @katie_b123.

4 thoughts on “Katie Byrne”

Leave a Reply

