Lucy Doolan

This is graphic designer Lucy Doolan. Design aside, she currently has a ‘fascination with lipstick – I change the colour I wear every day!’ She comes from a very musical family: her brother studies ballet in Scotland, and Lucy herself is a whizz on the violin, having played with numerous orchestras both here and abroad.

Lucy was born in New Zealand, and drinks copious amount of tea (‘to get me through the day!’), and she is very passionate about what she does. ‘I can’t imagine my life without design in one form or another!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a student at the Manchester School of Art studying Design and Art direction, completing my final year before being let loose into the big (and somewhat scary) world. I have a passion for people and their stories tending to produce very conceptual work.

What are your inspirations?

Psychology and people influence my work. I’m fascinated by relationships and how people are affected by design on an emotional level. Everyday life has a massive impact on my work. Sounds, smells and colours all work their way into my visual thinking.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Tough one. I’d have to say the cosmetics campaign based around the idea of fakery. I wanted to turn the beauty industry on its head and create an honest campaign which celebrates makeup and its falsity, rather than pretending those eyelashes in ‘that ad’ weren’t Photoshop’d to death and enhanced with falsies. I loved working with the models and playing around with people’s perception of fakery. Really interesting and a lot fun.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Right now I have huge admiration for artist and bookbinder Lucy May Schofield. She is very passionate and driven and makes the most beautiful, delicate work which is incredibly sensitive. Her love of the written word and desire to make work “to house stories which may otherwise go untold” is carefully thought out has been really inspiring.

Visit Lucy’s website, and follow her on Twitter: @LucyDoolan.

All images © Lucy Doolan. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

