C’ne Rohlsen

This is C’ne Rohlsen, a 22-year-old studio artist.

C’ne loves live music, and having what she describes as ‘amazing art adventures in the city’. She also has a rather unusual talent – ‘I’m an expert at people watching!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Hey! I live just outside of Chicago, IL and am finishing my senior semester as an undergraduate at the University of St. Francis.

My artwork mostly has to do with Gender performance and, how as a culture we all play along in order to be accepted in society. I choose to use magazine advertisements as a way of emphasizing the high and mostly unattainable goals that we have set for ourselves as a culture.

What are your inspirations?

My artwork is inspired by society and the fast-paced world that we live in. I like to explore the symbols and signs that exist in advertisements, and what it is telling us about ourselves as well as the society we live in. I mostly find inspiration in the research and exploration that I conduct before I start any project, I always find it inspiring to discover who has been there before you and what their take of a particular topic is.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think would have to be a series called Points Plus – a series of drawings where I have recorded the thing that I have eaten based on the Weight Watchers’ plan of points for food items. This series made me become a better active artist in drawing what I see rather then drawing what I think it should look like.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favorite creative would have to be Yayoi Kusama. This woman’s capacity to see her art as a way to help heal herself from her own illness is amazing. I enjoy having the ability to be inside a creative person’s head through their artwork, that’s exactly what she does.

Check out C’ne’s blog and Tweet her here: @TimeAwaits88.

All images © C’ne Rohlsen. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

